Leave a comment

Just Watched: Argo (2012) 4.5 Stars

Yes, I know what you all are thinking, “how can you just be seeing this now?! you’re a damn film studies minor!”  Listen, I saw the trailer before it came out and saw Ben Affleck with a beard and a 70’s haircut.  At that moment I was out and I didn’t want to turn back.  It took being bored the other afternoon and Argo being the only Blu Ray disc in the house that I had not seen yet so I threw it in, and I’m glad I did.  Looking back I don’t think the trailer did the film justice, because if I had known it was going to be historical, suspenseful, funny, and half based in Hollywood during the early 80s, I would have gotten past Affleck’s terrible hair and went to the theater.

Argo f*** yourself

Argo f*** yourself

Continued: SPOILERS

The best scene in this film is easily when Lester, played by Alan Arkin pictured above, is being interviewed on the fake film ‘Argo’ and is questioned multiple times about what Argo actually is and he finally answers (with food in his mouth) “I don’t know, Argo f*** yourself!”  This becomes a tag line for Arkin, Affleck, and Goodman when going through with the plan and it is a simple but effective way to lighten the mood and get laughs from the audience.  Of course the plot of Argo is Tony Mendez, played by Affleck, leads a joint CIA-Canadian secret operation to extract six American fugitive diplomats from Iran.  There were many plans before the Argo fake movie plan but each of them were terrible with Jack O’Donnell, played by Breaking Bad’s Bryan Cranston, saying that plan Argo was “the best worst plan,” which is definitely was.  Argo is also directed by Affleck using great camera movements and cuts, especially during the end of the film where Mendez is trying to get the fugitives passed Iranian military at the airport.  The suspense and tension is so great that I began to sweat and my heart was racing.  That is when you know you are watching a great film and I regret overlooking it.

Rotten Tomatoes gave it a 96% fresh rating; Users on IMDb.com give it a 7.9 rating; Fitch gives it 4.5 Stars.

Leave a Reply

